Utah motorcycle licensing
Utah Motorcycle License Requirements – Complete 2026 Guide
Utah phases out all three major learner restrictions after the first 2 months of a 6-month permit and separately allows tightly limited lane filtering when surrounding traffic is stopped.
Verified state facts
The practical Utah rider map
| Minimum age or path | 16 years old and already licensed with a Utah Class D driver license |
|---|---|
| Written test | 25 questions |
| Passing score | Utah DLD publishes the 25-question motorcycle test count but does not state a motorcycle-specific passing percentage on the official motorcycle page. |
| Permit or application fee | $18 motorcycle endorsement fee plus the applicable driver-license replacement or renewal fee when the motorcycle learner permit is added |
| License or endorsement fee | $18 motorcycle endorsement fee |
| Helmet or equipment rule | A DOT-compliant helmet is required for riders and passengers under age 21. |
Knowledge test
Utah motorcycle written test and study focus
25 questions Utah DLD publishes the 25-question motorcycle test count but does not state a motorcycle-specific passing percentage on the official motorcycle page. Build the study plan around motorcycle controls, visibility, lane position, intersections, curves, traction, passengers, cargo, impairment, fatigue, and emergency maneuvers, with extra attention to curves, grades, traction changes, weather, wind, and long downhill braking.
State route
How the Utah motorcycle process fits together
- Choose the credentialStart with the motorcycle permit, endorsement, or motorcycle-only license route described by Utah DLD motorcycle endorsement and permit requirements. Match that transaction to your current driver license before applying.
- Study the rider topics25 questions
- Handle training or skills testingAn approved Basic Rider Course or Experienced Rider Course completion card waives the Utah motorcycle skills test when presented within 6 months. The applicant must still complete the licensing-office requirements described by DLD.
- Prepare the state-specific packetUse the document section below, especially this item: A current Utah Class D driver license.
- Finish the credential transactionConnect the fee source, permit restrictions, and official source links before riding with full privileges in Utah.
DMV packet
What to bring for an Utah motorcycle permit or license
The application packet must match the exact Utah route: permit-only, endorsement added to a license, motorcycle-only license, course waiver, or under-18 application.
- A current Utah Class D driver license
- A completed driver-license application and scheduled DLD appointment
- Lawful-presence documents if the applicant holds a limited-term credential
- Two proofs of Utah address if the residence address changed
- Legal name-change documentation when applicable
- An approved rider-course completion card when requesting the skills-test waiver
Training
Motorcycle safety course and skills-test path in Utah
An approved Basic Rider Course or Experienced Rider Course completion card waives the Utah motorcycle skills test when presented within 6 months. The applicant must still complete the licensing-office requirements described by DLD. Keep the course certificate or waiver record with the application packet when Utah accepts it.
Permit rules
Utah motorcycle permit restrictions and road limits
Apply the learner-stage limits below before public-road riding; a Utah learner permit does not grant full motorcycle privileges.
- During the first 2 months, the permit holder may not carry a passenger.
- During the first 2 months, riding is prohibited from 10:00 p.m. through 6:00 a.m. except for the listed work, home, agricultural, or emergency purposes.
- During the first 2 months, the permit holder may not ride on a highway with a posted speed limit above 60 mph.
- The first-2-month restrictions are removed during months 3 through 6 of the permit.
- The applicant must carry the motorcycle learner permit while riding.
Fees
Utah motorcycle permit and license fees
The fee table below preserves the transaction details currently documented for this state. The first fee note is: $18 motorcycle endorsement fee plus the applicable driver-license replacement or renewal fee when the motorcycle learner permit is added
| Transaction | State fee note |
|---|---|
| Motorcycle permit or application | $18 motorcycle endorsement fee plus the applicable driver-license replacement or renewal fee when the motorcycle learner permit is added |
| License or endorsement | $18 motorcycle endorsement fee |
Safety laws
Utah helmet, gear, and lane rules
A DOT-compliant helmet is required for riders and passengers under age 21.
Regional comparison
Compare Utah with nearby motorcycle rules
| State | Permit or test path | Helmet rule |
|---|---|---|
| Utah | 16 years old and already licensed with a Utah Class D driver license | A DOT-compliant helmet is required for riders and passengers under age 21. |
| Nevada | 15 years and 6 months for the under-18 motorcycle permit path; adults age 18 or older may also obtain a motorcycle instruction permit. | Motorcycle and moped operators and passengers must wear approved protective headgear. Approved eye protection is required unless the vehicle has an approved transparent windscreen. |
| Colorado | 15; applicants ages 15 to under 16 must complete a Motorcycle Operator Safety Training course before receiving a permit | A helmet is required for motorcycle operators and passengers under 18; eye protection is required for operators regardless of age. |
| Wyoming | 15 years old | A protective helmet is required for motorcycle operators and passengers under age 18. |
Mopeds and scooters
Moped and scooter rules in Utah
Utah DLD includes mopeds, motor-assisted scooters, and other two- or three-wheel vehicles in its motorcycle-device guidance; the required credential depends on the vehicle’s statutory category and specifications.
Government references
Utah motorcycle source links
Source review date: August 22, 2026.